The Eurocodes stands for European structural design codes for building and other civil engineering works including bridge, water retaining structure. Eurocodes was initiated around 30 years from now and continuously updated, they are arguably the most advanced structural codes in the world.

The Eurocodes are intended to be mandatory for European public works and likely to become the standard for the industry – both in Europe and worldwide [as Ethiopia did by adoption starting from 2015].

There are ten structural Eurocodes, covering design principles, loading on structures, design with different materials, geotechnical design and design for earthquake resistance. The ten Eurocodes are shown below:

Where does Eurocodes [EN] Apply?

Well, EN applies to different civil engineering works. Including

✅ Geotechnical aspects;

✅ Structural fire design;

✅ Situations including earthquakes, execution, and temporary structures.

Contents of Eurocodes

Parts of Eurocode

The ten Eurocodes except EN 1990 is further apportioned into parts covering individual types of structures, such as general for buildings, bridges, silos, towers, and masts. In total, there are 58 parts to the ten Eurocodes.

Overview of Eurocode content [partly]:

one can find the download link below for the complete excel sheet of Eurocode contents with their respective descriptions.